Mother’s Day

mothersWell another Mother’s Day is fast approaching. I think it’s important to celebrate Mother’s Day even if your mother is no longer with us here on earth. I’m one of those fortunate to still have my mother around as I approach my retirement years. I think it is amazing how well she is doing at age 91. Oh she forgets a thing or two here and there but she remembers much more than most and after all she has 91 years worth of memories to draw from. My mother was always there to support me even when I was wrong. Make no mistake, she is not one to mince words and she will let me know if I crossed the line. She put up with an awful lot of crap from me until I enlisted in the Navy. When she saw that I had matured into a reasonable human being she realized she had done her job well and there was nothing left to do. Then it became a friendship as much if not more than the mother/son relationship. My mother is a lot of things and they are all good. She is an artist and very crafty. She is an excellent cook (except those few years when she experimented with “healthy” eating). She does some of the best cross stitching I have ever seen and in my mind she could do whatever she set her mind to and do it very well. She is an avid bird watcher/lover. She is a religious woman with strong faith in Our Lord and Savior, Jesus Christ. She is a professional mother. She is the oldest of 5 children and only 1 of 2 still with us having lost her only brother and 2 of her 3 sisters. She is from Long Island, NY and misses the ocean deeply but she never complains about moving to the Midwest because she supported her late husband. She is a widow since 1998 but has gained strength of will and mind as her body weakens. She decided on her own that she needed to give up driving several years ago and she decided on her own that she needed assisted living. She knows what to do and when to do it. Someday I will miss my mother as many of my readers do now. I can and do call her on the phone nearly every day and I visit her at least once a week and share a meal. I owe her an awful lot but it’s a debt that can never be satisfied. I love you mom, happy Mother’s Day!

