My Daily Flag on Facebook

flag01

Flag in my yard

Some time back a fellow US Submarine Veteran asked that we all post a picture of the US Flag on our Facebook pages often if not daily. This shows support, respect as well as patriotism for our country. I accepted the challenge and I post a picture along with “God Bless America, long live the Republic” every day without fail. Then I got the idea to include “On this day in History” with it. I would try to mix it up by doing different wars or politics and sometimes celebrities or sports figures. I did this for several months and then added “Today’s Birthday” where I would include a notable birthday for that day.

During the month of February I took a break from that since it is Black History month and began posting famous quotes. I didn’t feel an urge to single out one race all month. I suppose it was an effort to avoid being called a racist but that is just silly. I’m a white, middle class, male over 65 years old so I am a racist by definition, but that’s a subject for a different day.

The pictures of our flag initially came from the internet, some that I took and a few that my friend and shipmate, Bob D’Amico sent to me. Eventually I am replacing any from the internet and those that Bob sent with ones I have taken. Some that I’ve taken admittedly suck but my composition is getting better. When ever I see flags flying I want to pull over and take the picture. I do that when it is practical but eventually I want to get out my good camera and compose better pictures.

Beginning in March I am going back to history posts with my flag pictures but I will be concentrating on early American history and politics. If I don’t find anything interesting from our history for a given day I will post a quote. The one thing I have learned is that you can’t please everyone all the time. There’s always that person who can find fault with something I post and I’ve gotten used to it and deal with it or ignore it. I’m not going to bother with famous (or infamous) birthdays any longer.

So I offer this suggestion to all (both?) who read my blog, say the Pledge of Allegiance every day. Fly a flag in your yard or post a flag picture on your page. You don’t have to add any lengthy text just the picture will do. We all can make America what we remember it to be, the land of freedom!