Music To My Soul

file-feb-27-7-13-26-amRecently I posted my top 10 albums of all time on Facebook. These are my picks not Billboard’s or Rolling Stone Magazine’s. These are so much my favorites that it didn’t take long to compile the list. One of my submarine shipmates commented how difficult it is to pick albums and he’s right. Picking your favorite songs would be much easier. I assumed that an album to make my list needs to be one that I would listen to from start to finish without hitting the >> button. So with that in mind let me drill down into my picks just a bit. So here is the list.

  1. Dark Side of the Moon – Pink Floyd
  2. Abraxas – Santana
  3. Led Zeppelin – Led Zeppelin
  4. Led Zeppelin IV – Led Zeppelin
  5. Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band – The Beatles
  6. 1 – The Beatles
  7. 40 Licks – The Rolling Stones
  8. The Wall – Pink Floyd
  9. Animals – Pink Floyd
  10. Legend – Bob Marley

 

“Dark Side of the Moon” by Pink Floyd is number one because it is an album that was and is the one that I believe is the pinnacle of Pink Floyd’s run. The album flows where one song’s ending is the next songs beginning. I believe the only way to listen to this album is straight through. In vinyl you have to stop midway and flip the album over but all my music is in MP3 format and I stitched this album together to become one solid file. That’s the only way to listen to DSOTM. It will always be my favorite album.

“Abraxas” by Santana makes the list for a number of reasons. It was not Santana’s first album but for me it is their best work in my opinion. My dad bought this album for me for Christmas 1970. It was on cassette tape and was far from something I would expect him to know about. The cover alone made me wonder how in the world he would by that for me. This was released in 1970 while I was in the Navy and I must have mentioned it somewhere along the line. The cassette wore out and I have since replaced it with an MP3 version but it will always be a gift from dad.

“Led Zeppelin (I)” and “Led Zeppelin IV” are my to favorite Led Zeppelin albums. No group crushes the Blues into Hard Rock the way Led Zeppelin does. Their music has stood the test of time and for a group who never had a number 1 hit this is quite an accomplishment with their best hit being “Whole Lotta Love” reaching number 4. That song is not even on my two favorite albums. Once again I say that I can listen to these two albums straight through without lifting the needle (vinyl lingo).

“Sgt. Peppers Lonely Hearts Club Band” by the Beatles is one of their best creations in that is sells itself as a rock and roll symphony. Like DSOTM one song flows into the next. It was a departure from all their previous work and is a standout worthy of anyone’s top 10 list. Heck, the title alone should have won a Grammy.

“1” by the Beatles is a compilation that showcases most of their number 1 hits. This may seem like cheating but it is an official release and an album I can listen to from start to finish and feel good afterwards. what can you say about the Beatles except they were great.

“40 Licks” by the Rolling stones fits the bill similar to the previously mentioned Beatles album. It is an official release and it is a compilation. I would have a hard time choosing a Rolling Stones album to put on this list because I can’t recall any that I could listen to without skipping a song or 2 or 3, with the possible exception of “12 x 5”. This very talented British band is solidly on my list with this album.

Probably my favorite group is Pink Floyd and the two albums that occupy the number 8 and 9 spot are both favorites of mine. Once more these albums flow like a river through the ears into the brain seamlessly. “Animals” will always make my list as a brilliant piece of work. Roger Waters out did himself with “The Wall” pushing the boundaries of the mind into a double album of talented composing and producing. Yeah, great stuff.

Finally Bob Marley rolls in with “Legend”, a 1984 compilation that defines the man as the best reggae artist of all time in my opinion. I have listened to this album so often that if you play the tunes in a different order I will know it. Bob Marley died at age 36 in 1981 and I truly wish he had lived longer just to know what might have been.

There are plenty of albums that I could add to this list pushing it to 50 or more. Albums that are the ones you can cue up and listen to nonstop with no regrets. This is my top 10 and while you may have a totally different list these albums will arguably make any rock and roll aficionado’s list at some point. Of that I am confident.

