Winter in Michigan

Picture from a few years back

Well apparently this was a mild winter for Western Michigan. My neighbor who has lived on this lake for over 20 years is my source for this information. I got a picture from him a few years back that showed a pretty big pile of snow (drift) on our driveway. We bought this place in 2005 and used it during the nice weather (April to October) as a weekend and vacation place. Our plan was always to move here permanently once we retired. Well we moved here finally on May 13, 2016.

Condensing two homes into one has been challenging and we are still working on it. Meanwhile, we had a big room added on and had the entire outside redone. Lots of improvements and we couldn’t be happier. The first thing I did was purchase a decent snow blower anticipating conditions similar to that picture.

I bought it in May and stored it all summer but in the middle of October I moved it to the garage staging it inside the second door and had it ready to go. I got to use it a few times in December and it works great. But since the first of the year we’ve only had a few snow events and none were significant enough to fire it up. I’m not complaining but I was surprised. I like to be prepared for anything.

A more significant event was two weeks ago when a storm rolled through that was a high wind event toppling trees and large branches. We didn’t lose any trees in our yard but we did lose power for several days. This was the longest power outage I have experienced since the East Coast blackout back in the 60s. I have a generator and had the electrician install a manual transfer interlock installed. We had problems and I traced out what I could but ultimately I had the electrician come back to figure it out. He found and fixed the problem and we were in business. We had heat and water and the food was safe. No matter how prepared you think you are it’s impossible to cover every possibility.

